Documentation:ESLforPrimaryTeachers

From Kumu Wiki - TRU
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Resources for Primary English Teachers

Resource created for TRU World's Beijing Teacher Education Program - July 2015

Integrated / All Skills

Reading & Writing

Boy at School.jpg


Alphabet & Animals: http://www.bemboszoo.com/

Scholastic: http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/bll/index.htm

Mad Libs: http://www.madlibs.com/

Kid's Click: http://www.kidsclick.org/

Picture Dictionary: http://www.pdictionary.com/


Poetry

Giggle Poetry: http://www.gigglepoetry.com/

Poem Hunter: http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/the-months/ (from: http://www.poemhunter.com/)

Fun Brain: http://www.funbrain.com/brain/ReadingBrain/ReadingBrain.html (see examples of comics to use for creative writing).


Journal Writing: See Diary of a Wimpy Kid at http://www.funbrain.com/journal/Journal.html?ThisJournalDay=1&ThisPage=1

Read Write Think: http://www.readwritethink.org/

Guide to Grammar and Writing: http://grammar.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/

http://ww2.college-em.qc.ca/prof/epritchard/

Spelling City: http://www.spellingcity.com

Slideshows: http://photopeach.com/

Girls at School.jpg


Listening & Speaking

Listening & Speaking: http://www.rong-chang.com/listen.htm

ESL Lab: http://www.esl-lab.com/cgi-bin/mail.cgi/list/esllab/

Digital Dialects: http://www.digitaldialects.com/

About ESL: http://esl.about.com/od/englishlistening/

Many Things: http://www.manythings.org/

Pronunciation

For Spanish Speakers

Songs

Here are some great websites that have a variety of songs to choose from:

Songs

Games

Videos

Child Watching TV.jpg

Teacher Tube: http://www.teachertube.com/videos/

Thematic Lessons

Numbers

Canada

Grammar Lessons

Figures of Speech


Assessment


Classroom Management

Students-1177716 1920.jpg

Online Stopwatch: http://www.online-stopwatch.com/

Techniques and Methodology

Theories of Teaching and Learning

The Direct Method

Here are some video demonstrations of the direct method:

Other useful explanations:

  • FluentU The Direct Method of Teaching English: Ideas, Explanations and Sample Lessons


Communicative Language Teaching (CLT)

Video Explanations:

The Post-Communicative Approach

PPP Approach


Total Physical Response (TPR)

Lesson Plan Design

Learning Outcomes

Learning Theories

Bloom's Taxonomy

Gardner's Multiple Intelligences

Learning Styles

Educational Technology

Girl Reading.jpg

Resources



This article is being embedded in other sites: